A New Day at Limestone Ledge

I woke up at seven this morning, and of course the hospital staff was already going about its collective business, a little faster, a little noisier than than before seven. A couple of nurses came in and woke Lowell up a bit after the hour; time for him to be awake and thinking about breakfast.

I’m at my desk staring out over the busy street, six floors up. Commuters and early commercial vehicles are flashing past–for a long time when we were first up here I sat by the window watching to see how many cars had sunroofs or whatever they’re called no. The answer is: many. I’d say about 40% of those that pass under this window, though that’s a guesstimate. I even see sunroofs in some pickups that look like personal vehicles.

In the meantime my sweetheart is babbling about going to Midori’s for tempura. Now, I am here to say that Midori’s tempura is among the best I’ve ever had, so he gets no argument from me. Except that I had to point out: Hey, Babe, do you recall that Midori’s is in Kalispell, Montana, not right down the street from Barnes-Jewish Hospital in STL? I can’t recommend Midori’s enough, but doubt that we’ll be eating there soon. For the record, though, Midori’s has one of the most charming and fun staff members that I have ever encountered–Lowell thinks her name is Kimberly. When I asked him if he was sure, he said, “She looks like a Kimberly.” If you meet her, even if we’re wrong about her name, say hi for us.

For a moment there I was in Kalispell amidst the evergreen forest at the north end of Flathead Lake–lovely place. But now I’m back downtown in STL, looking out toward a Greek Orthodox Church, a parking lot, and a parking garage. The traffic below is loud. I liked being in Kalispell, but here I am.

Leave a Reply

